• Follow Me!

    You can follow me on Facebook page; Veesphotos. Or, on Twitter follow veeman60. Or, on Google Plus; http://bit.ly/veeman60
  • Vee'sFlickr Photos

    More Photos

Shooting Birds!

hbv_4605

Male House Finch

I’ve owned a Vello Freewave wireless remote shutter release for a few years now.  It’s been almost the same amount time since I’ve used it.  Lately, I’ve been motivated to learn to ID all those birds that look like sparrows to me.  I thought the best way to do this would be to use the ‘Vello’ to photograph the birds at my feeder.  That way I could ‘kill two birds with one stone’ so to speak.  Was that inappropriate?  Birders may now distrust me 😉

hbv_4576

Female House Finch

I’ve had a feeder set up at my new house in Colorado for about a month.  I also put a device on the ground by the feeder that holds water and keeps it from freezing.  I thought in this dry terrain (high desert), where little water is available and what is available (local reservoirs) is frozen, that if I could provide them with it they would come.  Casually I’ve noticed that the diversity of birds at my feeder is fairly low.  Since I’ve began to spend more time watching it (with the camera) I’ve learned that this diversity is pretty slim – so far.  I know it may take much more time and consistency with what I’m offering the birds to draw them in.  Other things like safe shelter from which to perch will also be something I need to work on.  In the end, my deductions were supported by my results.  All I have so far are house finches.

birdfeedsetup

Birdfeeder setup with camera and heated water

Back to the photography side of this exercise.  I haven’t taken the opportunity to use my Nikon 200-400 F4 VR Lens this winter.  I had initially purchase it a few years back to use in photographing outdoor sports when I lived back in Michigan.  Since coming to Colorado, I’ve largely used it for capturing images of wildlife (coyotes, mule deer and Elk) in Rocky Mountain National Park.  The remote setup would allow me to take pictures of the birds at a much closer distance (about 8 ft) and with a tripod.  Realizing this would affect the depth of field I wanted to practice to see what fstop I would need to use.  Some of my early shots used an fstop of f4 – f8.  I found that this resulted in way too shallow a depth of field.  I wanted to get almost all of the bird sharp and still have a pleasing, out of focus background.  The shots of the included male and female house finch were a result of moving the fstop to f14.

I hope to solve a couple of problems with this experiment in the near future.  The first, looking at the image of the female house finch one can tell it’s not as sharp as the male image.  This was a result of the feeder rotating when the female landed on it.  Bringing it forward to the near edge of the depth of field.  Restricting the movement of the feeder will eliminate the problem.  Secondly, I would like to experiment with larger fstops.  Hopefully, allowing the whole bird to be sharp.

Please excuse the shape of my blog.  I haven’t posted in quite awhile and it looks terrible.  I will be working on updating the look soon.  Please come back once and while and join me!

Any input on this topic is welcome!

