• Follow Me!

    You can follow me on Facebook page; Veesphotos. Or, on Twitter follow veeman60. Or, on Google Plus; http://bit.ly/veeman60
  • Vee'sFlickr Photos

Google’s PhotoScan

evernote-camera-roll-20161116-150625

Old black and white from the 50s of me and my sisters all dressed up for Easter.

If like me, you have boxes and boxes of pictures stored is secret places in your house, Googles new app, PhotoScan may be for you.  With the word ‘Scan’ in it’s name you might think that it’s just another ‘Scanner app’.  But, Photoscan is just optimized for images, not documents.  It’s meant to be a sister app to Google photo (which also just got an upgrade).  The new app is meant to get those old family photos out of the attic and into your Google photos.  Or Apple photos.  But, I must say, that if your an iPhone user like me you really should consider using Google photos (or Amazon photos) to back up the photos on your phone.  I like both of them better than Apple’s iCloud solution.  Here’s a link to the iOS version and the Android version.

evernote-camera-roll-20161116-150626

In starting the app, it prompts you to position your photo into the frame.  Once it senses your image is completely within the frame, five circles will appear.  One in the middle, and four at the corners of your screen.

evernote-camera-roll-20161116-150625-2

It will direct you, with an arrow, to move the middle circle (by moving the phone) over each corner circle in sequence.  In doing this, the app takes four images of your picture and then seamlessly sews them together.  This allows it to correct the angle (in case you’re not perfect like me) and eliminate any glare from the surface of the photo.  It then optimizes the images automatically (color corrected) including rotating it.  My experience was that the auto-rotation did not always occur.  But that was simple enough to correct in post within the app.  After you have captured the picture you can trim the sides (crop).  I found this difficult, but that may be due to my fat fingers?  Another problem I ran into at this point was when using their cropping tool, what I finished with was not always the same as what I was left with in the final product. One side frequently was cropped much more than what I saved.  To avoid this problem, I cropped the image in my photo app when I was done.  You can save it at this point or continue scanning images and save them all at once when finished.  If you’re an Android user, you can find your saved images but searching for under ‘scans’. Final note on the PhotoScan app, if you use a Photography Scanning Bed for your photos now, this app will probably not do as well.  But, it does do a good job and definitely speeds the task up.

Google’s Photo App also just received a significant upgrade.  They have changed and improved their Auto Enhance feature.  Auto Enhance now makes different adjustments based on what it judges to be the content of the image.  These are called ‘Looks‘.  Also, it now has slider controls for ‘light’, ‘color’ and ‘pop’ tools.  It is expanding the number of automatically generated movies from your pictures.  It will soon add three more types of movies;  1. New born, 2. Formal occasions (like weddings) and 3. ‘Through the years‘ which include annual events like Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc.

 

 

