• Follow Me!

    You can follow me on Facebook page; Veesphotos. Or, on Twitter follow veeman60. Or, on Google Plus; http://bit.ly/veeman60
  • Vee'sFlickr Photos

    More Photos

El Matador State Beach, Malibu, CA

 

HBV_1346_47_48_49_50-Edit

This state park, located along the coast, is popular with photographers for it’s large, accessible rock formations located on the beach.  It is somewhat difficult to access due to the steep stairs one must use to gain access.

HBV_1325-Edit

My two adult children and I had decided to take a quick trip to Cali to see a couple of hockey games in the L.A. area (LGRW).  Between the games we hoped to do some hiking, but due to the recent rains decided to forego the muddy trails for the beach.  I had brought my camera with me, but not my tripod (we went as light as possible so as not to check any bags on the flight).  I had brought a JOBY Gorillapod Focus + Ballhead that I’ve owned for a couple of years, but never used.  So, for the pictures here I struggled with it.  Not using it to hang off a tree branch, but to support the camera from the ground proved awkward at best.  But, it worked in a pinch. I have since purchased a Vanguard VEO 235AB Tripod which will be perfect for hiking in the Rockies where I live.  It will fit into my day pack nicely as it folds up to just 15 inches high and supports up to 13.2 lbs.

Above is a Time Lapse I took with my iPhone 6+s using the app Hyperlapse.  This is me following my son and daughter down the steep trail and steps to the beach.

The conditions for photography were not great in that it was overcast with gray skies and somewhat foggy.  But we had fun and I got a couple of ‘travel photos’ to mark the occasion!

 

