• Follow Me!

    You can follow me on Facebook page; Veesphotos. Or, on Twitter follow veeman60. Or, on Google Plus; http://bit.ly/veeman60
  • Vee'sFlickr Photos

A Journey Begins

Poudre River at site near Poudre Park

Poudre River at site near Poudre Park

Moving is stressful!  It’s taken about 2 months since we received an offer on our house in Michigan until we are “semi-settled” in Colorado.  I say “semi” because we still live amongst boxes and furniture that have yet to find their place in the new house (will that ever end?).  Unfortunately, it’s been about the same amount of time since I’ve had a chance to pick up my camera and take some pictures.  There are several reasons why my wife and I undertook this move.  One being family.  At some point, while visiting the Rockies almost every summer for the last 25-30 years, our son decided to stay out west and make it his home.  Now that he has married, we decided to move closer to be near our future Grandchildren (no pressure there, eh?).  The other having to do with depth.  With each visit, it seems that I just scratch the surface of an area.  The Rockies are beautiful and immense.  I’ve walked to the top of some their highest peaks and along some of their biggest valleys.  But, it always seemed like a drive by shooting.  Now I hope to take the time to investigate these old rocks and look for the secrets they may hide.  I took my first break from unpacking boxes the other day.  Even though it was only a couple of hours, I discovered country I have never seen,  Late in the afternoon, I headed up through the hills northwest of Fort Collins for a drive.  In this short time, with diminishing light I found some interesting areas that I plan on returning to and hiking soon.

Tunnel through the mountain just west of Poudre Park.

Tunnel through the mountain just west of Poudre Park.

I drove about 30 miles out of town along the Poudre Canyon Hwy, into the Poudre Park area.  It is located fairly close to where the fires were this summer.  A number of times, while driving through the area, I saw Thank You Signs to the fire fighters that fought this blaze.  Even though the light was not great, I did fire off a couple of shots just so I could exercise some very rusty muscles.  It has wet my appetite for more exploration.  I hope to chronicle a lot of it here so I can revisit this journey.

4 Responses

  1. I’m so jealous, Bruce! Miss you around the gym, especially now that basketball has started. I’ll be looking forward to viewing your new discoveries!

  2. Hi Wendy. I too will miss be around the gym seeing all my friends. You’ll have to bring your family out. I’m sure your son would love to hike the mountains!

  3. Have been waiting to see how the ‘settling-in’ is going. So glad we got to have a visit before you left Michigan. Look forward to lots of lovely photos. Thanks for sharing!

  4. We would love to have you and John come for a visit!

Comments are closed.

