• Follow Me!

    You can follow me on Facebook page; Veesphotos. Or, on Twitter follow veeman60. Or, on Google Plus; http://bit.ly/veeman60
  • Vee'sFlickr Photos

    More Photos

Red Headed Woodpecker

I’ve been seeing this guy off and on all winter.  I finally was ready for him – well kinda.  I had my Nikon 200-400 f/4 lens with a 1.4x on my monopod sitting by a window.  As I walked through the room this morning, I noticed this Red Headed Woodpecker working over my hanging basket feeder.  I went back into my office and grabbed my Nikon D3s body and put it on the lens.  Now I had to hope and wait for him to reappear.  I opened the window (it’s a beautiful, sunny March day here in Michigan) and set up the monopod.  He left the feeder and flew up into a nearby tree.  I fired a couple of shots just to document his presence.  The branch you see above was in the way, but I wanted to document him and then wait for a better shot.  Well, a better shot didn’t come. I actually ended up using the first shot I took.  After a moment or two, he flew off.  I need to reload the feeder and stay ready for a better picture!  I thought about trying to remove the branch with ‘Content Aware‘ in PS-5, but my skills are not good enough to make the picture actually look better.  Plus with wildlife, for me, this may be going to far ‘from what I saw’.  I know this is a hotly contested topic, but I’m comfortable with editing, but not removing or putting things into the picture.

