• Follow Me!

    You can follow me on Facebook page; Veesphotos. Or, on Twitter follow veeman60. Or, on Google Plus; http://bit.ly/veeman60
  • Vee'sFlickr Photos

    More Photos

Downy Woodpecker

Finally received my first visit of the winter from a Downy Woodpecker.  However, I shouldn’t be surprised after abandoning my feeders for the month of January for a trip to the Gulf of Mexico!  The video is not tack sharp.  I video this with the lens that happened to be on the camera body when I first caught a glimpse of red on the feeder.  I was also caught without my glasses, hence the soft focus.  By the time I did retrieve my glasses and put the 400mm lens with a 1.4x on the camera body, the Downy had got it’s fill and was gone.  But, I am ready and waiting now!

I call this a downy largely because of it’s size.  Other than that, my birding skills are not sharp enough to note other differences.  I had a hairy visit a few years back and found it larger, about the size of one of our Michigan Robins!  If you think I’ve erred in this identification, I stand readied to be educated!

