• Follow Me!

    You can follow me on Facebook page; Veesphotos. Or, on Twitter follow veeman60. Or, on Google Plus; http://bit.ly/veeman60
  • Vee'sFlickr Photos

Red’s Hot Wheels

1929 Ford Coupe

This weekend I had the pleasure to venture out to a friend’s place in the country and shoot some of his handy work.  Red restores and soups up old cars.  He has three so far.  We shot them all, but I’m just throwing up a few pictures of one of them today (You can click on the pictures for a larger view).  Red told me that this ’29 Ford Coupe was built over period of seven years (I guess he had to spend time on his regular job occasionally!).  This is the first time I’ve taken time to really contemplate shooting cars.  I had a ball.  But, I already see changes I would like to make in my technique and post production.

For example, here’s a shot of the interior.  In order to get this picture I had to climb into the jump seat in the back and reach under the car wall behind the front seats.  Then Red had to reach in the side window and put the camera into my outstretched hands.  I was using a wide angle Nikkor 14mm, 2.8 mm lens for the shot.  I shot 9 bracketed images, using live view so I could see what I was shooting.  The problem is evident.  I couldn’t hold the camera still enough for this shot.  I could of increased the ISO so I could achieve faster shutter speeds, but that would have multiplied unwanted noise in post.  I think what I’ll try is securing the camera with a Manfrotto 244 RC arm in the back.  Then, using a wireless trigger fire the camera.  This is what I love about photography.  It always presents with puzzles to solve!

Here’s a look into Red’s secret workshop.  As you can see, there’s a lot of history stored in there.  One could spend hours just looking at all the neat stuff on the walls.  If you’re a child of the 60s like me, this is Candy Land!  This week I’ll post some more of Red’s other two rods.  Here’s some more information about the ’29 Ford Coupe that Red supplied me with.

They were called Model A Fords.  It has a 350 ci Chevy motor with three deuces for carburation.  It was built over a period of 7 years, and this it’s 10th year on the road.  The top has been chopped 3″ and the center of the roof has been filled with a piece of roof from a 72 Chevy Vega Station wagon.  The interior is all custom made, with the seats coming out of a 99 Chevy S-10 Pick-up.  I did all the work except for the upholstery and the pinstripes.”

Thanks Red for all the phun!  I look forward to visiting some old junk yards with you to shoot some ghosts from the past.

