• Follow Me!

    You can follow me on Facebook page; Veesphotos. Or, on Twitter follow veeman60. Or, on Google Plus; http://bit.ly/veeman60
  • Vee'sFlickr Photos

    More Photos

Multiple Exposure

Multiple Exposure can have several meanings.  Here I took 4 images (every other one from a burst of 8) and combined them into a single picture.  To accomplish this I created a 4 layered image in Photoshop.  It required me to use a mask in the three later images (in time) in this sequence.  By using a mask I was able to allow only the parts of the image I wanted (in this case the pitcher) that made up the layer to show through.  The inspiration came from an example on Facebook.  A photog friend that I work with introduced me to a friend of his’ blog.  Mark Rebilas is a sport photographer and takes some amazing photos.  If you look through his blog, you’ll see that he shoots anything but the ‘normal’ sport photos.  It was his Facebook photo that inspired me to try this.  However, if you read his description, you will realize that he used an ‘in camera’ technique to get his effect.  I use to do this in the old ‘film’ days.  We didn’t have photoshop then and it was the only way one could achieve anything close to the above.  The effect was largely used in portrait photography to get the subjects face on the same print twice.  And, yes, this could also be accomplished in the darkroom if you were doing your own printing back then.

New DSLR’s have a menu item that allows one to take multiple images and have them all appear on the same file.  I like the technique above better, since you have more control over the exposures of each image.  But, I’m definitely amazed at Mark’s ability to get the results that he did.

